Ohio’s child passenger safety law requires the following:
Children less than 4 years old or 40 pounds must use a child safety seat meeting federal motor vehicle safety standards.
Children less than 8 years old, unless they are at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall must use a booster seat.
Children ages 8-15 must use a child safety seat or safety belt.
Properly install your car seat
View video tutorials on how to install your car seat or find a child car seat inspection station near you. Certified technicians will inspect your car seat, for free in most cases, and show you how to correctly install and use it. Register your car seat so you can be notified of any safety recalls.
Our Early Intervention Specialist can assist you with the installation of car seats at no cost. To schedule an appointment, please call 740-387-1035.
Ohio Buckles Buckeyes
The Ohio Buckles Buckeyes program provides free child safety seats to eligible low-income families in all Ohio counties.